We’ll get to it when we get to it!!

18 Jun

I have breastfed all my babies.  I weaned Pierce at 11 months because I was pregnant with Will and was so tired I literally couldn’t get off the couch. He took a bottle happily, and that was that. I nursed Will for 13 months, and he weaned easily, as I think we were both ready to stop. And that was that. I have nursed Parker for 19 months, and we’re still going. And I love it. He’s just not ready to wean, and I’m just not a pushy mom. Nor am I really ready to wean him. I don’t really understand why it’s such a big deal to people. He only nurses at nap time and bedtime. He’s not even 2. He’s very likely my last baby. So you know what? We’re going to keep doing this for a while. I’m not going to stress about it, and I’m not going to let other people make me feel bad about it. Just because I choose to do things differently than other people doesn’t mean it’s wrong, or bad. It’s just different.

So, yeah, I still nurse my baby. He might be a toddler to you, but he’s my baby. And we’ll wean some day…when we get to it.

4 Responses to “We’ll get to it when we get to it!!”

  1. michelle stibbs June 18, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

    “He might be a toddler to you but he’s my baby” brought tears to my eyes. I have always believed that mama knows best.

  2. Robin June 20, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    I nursed Mary till she was just shy of two. She was the same with her nursing…before nap, bed and the occasional comfort nurse.

    We live in a society where breasts are for one reason and one reason alone, and heaven forbid you use them as God intended! If you *must* use them for *that* then for god’s sake, just a few weeks! Anymore and it is gross! I find that to be a sad thing.

    I always tell people that nursing is so easy! No bottles to wash, no remembering to pack everything, no finding an old bottle that rolled under the carseat or couch, you don’t have to get up in the middle of the night to fix/warm a bottle…you just (if you co-sleep) roll over, nurse and snooze while the baby eats. Easy Peasy…and FREE!!

    So you just go on with your bad self and next time someone bugs you about it tell them that the world wide average for weaning is FIVE!

  3. Betsy March 18, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I agree with you and the other comments; its your choice, and there is plenty of research proving that nursing until two years has great intellectual benefits for the child! Way to go, we need more moms that are as committed to their kids as you are.

    • Kim March 19, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Thanks, Betsy! We finally weaned at 2.5. It was just right. Now I’m nursing #4, but she’s just 4.5 months, so we have a good long while to go. Nursing is just one of those short-lived pleasures in life that it’s easy to see as only necessity and let it go too quickly. I know not everyone feels that way about it, but I sure do.

Leave a Reply

